The Primary School Curriculum (1999) outlines the contents of children’s learning—the what and how of children’s learning—for children’s first eight years in school, from junior infants to sixth class. The curriculum aims to:

  • develop each child’s potential to the full
  • encourage a love of learning
  • help children develop skills they will use all their lives.

The curriculum is presented in six areas, some of which are further subdivided into subjects. These are:

  1. Language: Gaeilge and English
  2. Mathematics
  3. Social, Environmental and Scientific Education (SESE): history, geography and science
  4. Arts Education: visual arts, music and drama
  5. Physical Education
  6. Social, Personal and Health Education (SPHE)
Please use the following link, to the Department of Education website, to see specific content about each of these 6 areas: 
N.B. Religious or Ethical Education is the responsibility of the different school patron bodies.